My Top Eight Favorite TV Openings.

I personally love TV intros, it sets the tone of the show and sometimes its better than the show itself.

8. Six Feet Under

It really has a litteral visual of what happens when you die. I like it because of the imagery and its so well shot.

7. Nip/Tuck

I like this one a lot because its true representation of today’s society: even perfect isn’t good enough.

6. The Walking Dead (both Fan and Official)

I have two for the The Walking Dead. The one was made by a fan based on the comic book. It was so well done. Even I was convinced it should have been used for the actual show. But the more I thought about it, it doesn’t really fit the mood of the show. However, it the show was a cartoon, the fan made version hands down would be awesome for that.

The second one, is the Official one that AMC went with. I personally love it. It fits the show. It shows how serious, empty, chaotic, and dead everything is. Plus tune is just awesome.

 
5. The Sopranos

This is an now an iconic intro. I like the symbolism of the idea him coming from a mobster to a family man. It also shows that Tony doesn’t live a glamourous life NYC as you see him driving to NJ, a much more gritty place.  Just shows him as a normal guy driving home from work. Its well done with landmark shots.


4. Weeds

Just a clever way to show the world of the suburbs. There are many version of the song, this one is not my favorite but it the only one I could find to work on this site.


3. True Blood

This is one of the best credits on tv right now. Its really eye catching due to the shocking graphics and rawness of it. The song fits perfectly with it. It really sets the mood of the show and where the show take place. It gets you ready for not your typical show. Just a small warning, it is really graphic.

2.  Mad Men

Discribes the show perfectly, about falling and getting lost in a world where the times are changing fast. The silhouette and imagery is a cool effect.

1. Dexter

The most brillant intro I have ever seen. The morning routine looks so different when its a killer’s routine. Simple but pure brillance with the shots of this theme. Takes the average everyday american guy’s morning routine and makes completely horrific. The upbeat music is creepy, which makes the whole opening credits work. Note I wouldn’t watch this if you are eating.

And now I realize I watch way to much tv… I’m gunna go read a book or something…

About abbygayleherbert

Studying Graphic Design at Fanshawe College.

Leave a Reply

March 2011
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

