Sugarland: The Incredible Machine

I have been waiting for this CD ever since they announced the release  date. A lot of fans seem to be  surprised by the change in sound. It is not your typical Sugarland sound. This has a bit more rock influence.

When I saw them live on The Incredible Machine Tour, I got a glimpse of what the new record would be like. The art direction, the costumes and the set list gave me the hint of what they were going for, I could already hear it.  Some of the fans will be let down if they were expecting a full-blown country record.

I am enjoying the music a lot, you get to hear more of Kristian’s voice in this record then in the past, when it seems to be just Jennifer.  It is a much more diverse sound.   It shows their creative ambition and their ability to push the envelope with a record that classified under ‘County/Folk” opens  with such a rock-based song.It also uses a lot more keys than fiddles in this album.

Whether its country, pop, or rock , it doesn’t matter to me. I am open to listen to anything and the genre doesn’t matter. The record isn’t the most consistent as its ranges from pop to rock. However, I kinda like it that way.  At the end of the day, as a Sugarland fan, I am happy with the new album and its new sound.  One of my favorite CD’s of 2010.

Songs to Listen to:

The Incredible Machine: Reminds me of bit of their song “love”. The funky dark  cryptic song is unique.

Stand Up: Heard this song live in concert and couldn’t wait to play it. And you get hear the other half of the duo explores his vocals. It is an anthem song made to be played in concert.

Tonight: A simple classic rock ballad. Reminds me of an 80’s type song. One Of the Best songs on the CD.

Shine the Light:  Uplifting song. Jennifer’s talents are showcased in this song as she plays and sings in this piano driven ballad.

About abbygayleherbert

Studying Graphic Design at Fanshawe College.

One response to “Sugarland: The Incredible Machine

  1. Wonderful blog! I truly love how it? s easy on my eyes as well as the data are well written. I am wondering how I can be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which need to do the trick! Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My Tweets

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

